The historic Dennison Lodge, located in the center of the charming remote village of Dubois, Wyoming, is a unique and evocative log-built structure ideal for private and community events.
At once majestic and intimate, it features a large main room with a massive fireplace, a large chandelier, and log-built furniture. At the rear is a large, well-stocked kitchen suitable for event catering. A smaller room to the west, accessed via double doors, is suitable for small meetings, food service separate from the main room, or small concurrent activities.
The perfect venue for family reunions or weddings, the Dennison Lodge is also ideal for corporate meetings, public lectures, and artistic performances.
Although small (in-town population under 1,000) and remote (80 miles from the nearest larger town in any direction), Dubois is a charming tourist destination well prepared to serve your needs and those of your guests. The town has 11 motels, many rental cabins, 12 restaurants, two museums, numerous shops and galleries, and excellent Internet service.
For further information, look at www.duboiswyoming.org.
The Dennison Lodge is open from May through November. For inquiries or to schedule an event, please click on “Email Us” in the menu above.
A remarkable history …
The Dennison Ranch was originally part of the legendary Double Diamond cattle range, stretching from Montana to Utah. In 1919, Richard B. Dennison, an heir of the Dennison Manufacturing Company of New England, followed his heart to the area of Dubois, Wyoming. He bought and developed a 60,000 acre spread high up in the East Fork Valley of the Absaroka Mountain Range.
He proceeded to build a showplace, the likes of which had not before been seen in the wilds. The sumptuous ranch featured that area’s first hot and cold running water, in the lodge as well as in the barns.
The Main Room of the Lodge, which Mr. Dennison called “The Trophy Room,” featured a cobblestone fireplace. The building originally featured four bedrooms, plus a large indoor kennel for Dennison’s hunting dogs, imported Scottish Deer Hounds.
Two grand pianos graced the beautifully adorned living room, which featured massive log furniture. Shelves held whole sets of glassware and Havilland china. Persian rugs adorned the walls.
Dennison was not a hunter, but every winter he traveled to Africa and brought trophies to display back home. Favorite guests, including Clark Gable and Carole Lombard, appreciated the decor.
Sometime after Mr. Dennison’s death in 1939, the Wyoming Game and Fish Department purchased the property to raise hay for winter feeding of the wild elk herds. Because of the interest of a local group in preserving the historic building, along with the Game and Fish Department, the Lodge was obtained and moved (in three pieces) to its present location in 1995. It was then re-assembled by local experienced log builders.
In 1996, the Lodge (which is owned by the Town of Dubois) opened to the public as a western history showcase. Today it stands conveniently between the town’s historic Museum and the National Bighorn Sheep Center, adjacent to the main street of Dubois, which continues westward toward Yellowstone Park.
The Lodge now serves as an enchanting gathering place for both private and public functions, including family events, weddings, receptions, lectures, musical and theatrical performances, and other seasonal events.